VW Beetle Forum banner
1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Greetings.
I go back with Volkswagen to the sixties. I looked around at what people I knew were driving and I liked the VW because of its simplicity and apparent reliability.
Everyone with domestic cars were always complaining. Those who drove a Bug were joyous.
We were becoming a Volkswagen family; my brother, sister, aunts, uncle, cousin, as well as our next-door neighbor.
There was a family down the street who had a yard full of them, always tinkering. The few times I talked with them, they seemed really happy to own and work on them.

I spent nearly forty years as a VW tech, owning several shops, getting involved in Porsche cars, as well. I now work at a high dollar 356/early 911/904/906 restoration shop.

I've been driving a 1992 Jetta five-speed for the past eight years: worst car I've ever owned, except for that horrible '55 Buick.:mad:
I'm surprised I've held onto it for so long. Stubborn, I guess.
It's a shame, because it came after the best car I ever owned; a 1987 Jetta five-speed. I'd still be driving it if I hadn't been run off the road and totaled it. As well as the many Bugs and Buses served me, that Jetta was outstanding. 283,000 miles, driven for 8 1/2 years by the wife, another 8 by me, it never let us down. The one time it suffered a flat was while it was sitting in front of the house.
It was still nearly all original and utterly reliable.

So, I've become fed up with having to constantly fix things on the '92. It's lived its life and it's time for it to go away. The bottom is rusted too badly to consider fixing it.
It's been a quirky, temperamental, loud pain in the butt. I'll celebrate the day it leaves, after I've pulled some of the parts to save for a '91 that I'm restoring/customizing.

I started looking through Cragslist and eBay, hoping to find an affordable MkII Jetta to replace the '92. All I found were project cars and expensive hopped-up examples.