NewBeetle.org Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hello,
I am a new driver, recieving my license in late September. I already have a car, old and very high mileage hand me down. I have to drive that car for a few months(until my birthday in January hopefully). In the meantime, I am researching my dream car(new beetle). I have read many, many reviews by owners and seen lots of negative aspects. I would like a trouble free car that will last me all of my university years and more. My dad is pursuing a used Toyota Corolla or the 2012+ Beetles(used and our budget would be much higher). I do not want to spend too much for issues or headaches.. I really love 98-2010 Beetles. I found some great deals on Craigslist on 1998-2001 Beetles(problematic years?). My dad and I already looked at a beautiful Creme 2006 Beetle but the mileage was too high. I am guessing our price limit would be $10K but I would like to spend more like $3K :p I would have to drive automatic since I've been driving for only 5 months. I am a good driver with automatic and I'd feel more comfortable with it but I am willing to learn manual if it causes less problems with the transmission. I have been researching all summer. Based on the reviews I've read, my mind says "don't buy the car" but my heart is so in love with this car. I've loved them since I was 5. :)

Sorry for the long intro, but what is the most reliable, least problematic year of the New Beetle based on your or someone else's experiences?

My preferences:
Sun roof
TDI(gas saver)
Under 100K miles(most necessary)

Thanks!

PS: we already have a 2010 VW Routan with 5K miles so we haven't had any problems yet, it has a beautiful engine.

·
5/23/10 <3
11,171 Posts