NewBeetle.org Forums banner

1 - 20 of 70 Posts

·
GhiaFixer
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,
I'm new to the forum (just signed-up). It seems like someone in family or myself has always owned a VW. My wife and I have been driving a 1969 Karmann Ghia since 1987. And growning-up my family had a Beetle and her family had a Karmann Ghia. So we've loved our VWs a long time. We finally (this pass summer) got a shiny new 2005 New Beetle Convert (Harvest Moon, with a tan top) and love it. The wife saw it at the dealer and had to have it.

Anyways I was looking for a dead pedal and thought this one looked cool.

http://forums.newbeetle.org/showthread.php?threadid=17779

Anybody know if Doublebug is still making these? How do I get a hold of him? I'm new to this forum stuff. Cheers

·
Premium Member
4,319 Posts
Out of the almost 50 orders recieved, Jassen made a total of 6 of these, 1 prototype (his) and 5 for org members. 5 were shipped and only 4 ever arrived. The 5th one got lost in the mail.

These are the org members that recieved thiers.

Fowvay

Strorg

Blownbug

xeres

I think I am the only remaining org member left out of that list.. :(

As for what happened to Jassen.. The rumor mill says. (this is rumor only and not confirmed with Jassen.) That Jassen was um borrowing the materials from work and got fired over it. I guess that would explain how he could sell these for $20 shipped since the material costs were over $20 and the shipping on mine was $9.

·
Just Bugged
61 Posts
Fowvay said:
Here is a pic of mine installed.. and no it's not forsale... at this time at least unless someone makes me a stuipid offer. :D

What kind of material were they made out of? They look Stainless, but I can make aluminum look that good too. Can you give me some dimensions, like how thick, and how is it attached? I might have to see if I can make one, and reproduce them.

·
Premium Member
4,319 Posts
I will give you some basics..