NewBeetle.org Forums banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to the Beetle family. Purchased my 1st yesterday which is a 03 Turbo S. The issue or main one right now.....Crank no start. I believe it's not getting fuel.
I've been trying to figure out what best manual to get first. Any suggestions!!

thanks

·
Super Moderator
14,749 Posts
All I know is this. Bentley manual is what our Beetle friends use.

I hope you can figure out why it's not starting. The 6-speed Turbo S is so much fun to drive, it should be illegal!

Best of luck to you!

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Well the car has been sitting for a long time.....like over a year!!

·
Registered
12,686 Posts
Stat with the basics: fuel,spark and compression. If you have a scan tool; check for any trouble codes and also, keep an eye out for the immobilizer blinking light, indicating it is kicking on, killing the ignition, if the engine starts for a moment and then dies, that is a classic immo issue.

Bentley, are the factory published vw service manuals; meanwhile, here are some links to free vw service manuals online:

Fuel pressure testing:

Compression testing:

Spark: You can use. inline spark tester or pull a coil, spark plug; hook both together and ground the spark plug on the engine. Have a helper turn the engine over and you should see, if there is a spark at the spark plug electrode.