NewBeetle.org Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello VW world!
Im new to owning a new beetle but not to VW. My family has always had VW beetles, and my father gave me his white 1974 VW beetle to which after many years agonising over what to do, many years pouring thousands of dollars into it... i sold it
:( But! bought Albert, my new white 11/1999 beetle.

I am trying to find out the trim.. i think from my research, it appears to be a GLS. Perhaps you have more advice on how to tell?
Albert has: a centre console armrest (needing repair), alloy wheels, electric windows, non-heated seats (don't need them in Australia!), electric mirrors, all these amazing lights (under the sun visors when you slide the mirror cover over!) on both sides. He has a factory 6 CD stacker and a factory rear spoiler. The interior seats are cloth.

I am having a few issues such as the engine light comoing on for a while then it turned off for a while, then has came back on again. I have noticed it may be when re-fueling? but not everytime. I always use premium fuel.

Also the dredded interior gluey sticky goop that is on the arm garnish running along the top of the window. I am looking to have that upholstered in black vinyl. Is this possible? Does this part come off easily?

Anyway, I appreciate the time you took reading, hopefully see you around!!:D

·
Super Moderator
14,714 Posts
*I am looking to have that upholstered in black vinyl. Is this possible?*

Why not? What could it hurt? :p

Welcome to the Org! Congrats to you for your New Beetle! :party:

·
Registered
4,271 Posts
WELCOME to the ORG

http://newbeetle.org/forums/new-member-forum/51021-newbie-welcome-kit.html

Welcome and Hello from Up Over :D

Glad to have you aboard. When you get a chance post some pics of your New Beetle in the Photo section. We Orgers love to look at other peoples rides.