NewBeetle.org Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
LOLSVX
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all! My name is David, and I drive a pearly white 1992 Subaru SVX.

I love the car to death, and I've had it a little over 4 years now. It's survived 50,000+ miles of me driving it, including a trip I took two months ago from Pittsburgh, PA all the way to Irvine, CA (2600 miles) without a single issue. The wife now needs a car to get to work, and I would love to get her a Volvo S70 or V70, but she loves the bugs, and I can't blame her. They're perfect cars for girls.

Anyway, I have yet to buy one, but I am looking on all my local classifieds to try and find one. I am very mechanical, but I'm no mechanic. But, I love doing a lot of my own work on vehicles, as long as it's not a job that can screw up everything if I tighten one bolt an extra foot pound!

I have tons of questions. Any and everyone should chime in!

PS, my wife can NOT drive a stick. She has enough time forcing her simple little brain to drive an automatic. :p;)

- What is the best year?
- I am on a tight college budget and would like to spend less than $3,000.
- What warning signs should I look out for?
- What maintenance should I do as soon as I get it?
- What questions should I ask the seller?
- What is the best engine? The 2.0 or 1.8t?

As far as I understand the timing belt and water pump should be replaced around 100k (as with most cars- especially Subarus).

I've heard bad things about the automatic trannys. Is there anything I can do to prolong the failure? Is it due to cooling issues? Gearing issues? I assume a turbo motor would be harder on it as well.

I've hear horror stories of electrical problems including fires. What can be done about this? Is this a legitimate concern? Should I keep my eye open for anything specific?