NewBeetle.org Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
New /Used Beetle in the forum w/2.0 ailing.

Hello, new to the forum and stopped by the new members section and left a message.
I have a new /used member of my car family and thought since it was ailing that I really should become a part of a VW community .
Hopefully I will learn something but also may be of some help since I was a self employed Auto Mechanic for over 25 years.
My new acquisition to the family of cars that I must oversee maintenance on is a 2003(4) Beetle hatchback Auto w/2.0 gas engine.
My next door widowed neighbor bought it new and although she drove it everywhere, like most women the downfall was oil changes and tires were her only maintenance.
So when it failed to start one morning in her drive way , it sat there until her son purchased something better for her and sold me the car.
I pulled it to my garage next door and investigated what had happened.
Of course you all know that the belt was stripped under the crank gear.
So, browsing the Internet I see that it is an interference type engine.
Her and my bad luck.
So I bought a new Gates Belt to check to see if will run before I shell out any money for plugs , wires, water pump etc.
After reading and seeing numerous videos/blogs about it I start the repair.
The timing marks are very difficult to find. Had to remove the coil pack on the bell housing to even see the transmission marks, yet they is not an indicator (pointer) on the bell housing.
One source says to a line the slash -O- with the bottom edge of the window slot.
This I did and the tiny marks on the front pulley then aligned.
There is only one small mark on the cam gear, this all aligned I installed the new belt, bottom pulley and lower belt cover, then using a socket I carefully turned the engine about 10 times making sure every time the lower marks line up that the upper gear is 180 out or on the mark the next time.