NewBeetle.org Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, I an new to the VW world and Love the my new purchase of a 2001 beetle GLS Turbo with 59,000 miles on it, the only issue is the EPC light comes on sometimes and reduces the power of my car to 40mph, i have learned so much about the beetles just by reading this forum, if anyone has had or read this issue I would appreciate the help, THANKS...

·
Beware-Blonde with Beetle
677 Posts
Welcome! I'm not technical enough to help you with your issue:home:, but never fear because someone will be along soon that can help. :)

Me? I just like to welcome people to the org. ;) Super low miles on your 2001 - congrats on the find. Hope you can post some pictures soon.

Again, welcome! :wave2:

·
Registered
4,271 Posts
Hello, I an new to the VW world and Love the my new purchase of a 2001 beetle GLS Turbo with 59,000 miles on it, the only issue is the EPC light comes on sometimes and reduces the power of my car to 40mph, i have learned so much about the beetles just by reading this forum, if anyone has had or read this issue I would appreciate the help, THANKS...
WELCOME TO THE ORG :D
Check out the Welcome link :
http://newbeetle.org/forums/new-member-forum/51021-newbie-welcome-kit.html

MORAV usually Welcomes you but I think he is on his way to some sunny Beach this week ;)

Go to Autozone and have them scan your car and let us know what the "Code" is. With the New Beetle it can be any number of things that could cause your issue.
That is such a LOOOOWW Mileage on that 2001. WOW, my 2000 GLX has almost 3 1/2 times the mileage of your beetle. Even though your beetle has low miles on it it is over 10 years old and if the Timing belt service hasn't been done on it I would suggest it be your first priority. Mileage is not the only factor. Age also plays a big part and that belt can break from old age and then your beetle will become a door stop in an instance.