NewBeetle.org Forums banner

1 - 20 of 48 Posts

·
Registered
80 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

Newbie here. Just purchased a 2002 GLS. I noticed the oil was changed 1500 miles ago and when I checked the oil it was down almost 1.5 quarts (1 qt per 1000 miles) Does the 2.0 have oil consumption problems that I should be aware of? The oil was changed at the dealership every time by the previous owner. I have about 3,000 miles of warranty left and would like to here what you guys think before my warranty expires.

Thanks

·
a.k.a. porkchopzz4
890 Posts
Skoobahead said:
Hello,

Newbie here. Just purchased a 2002 GLS. I noticed the oil was changed 1500 miles ago and when I checked the oil it was down almost 1.5 quarts (1 qt per 1000 miles) Does the 2.0 have oil consumption problems that I should be aware of?
The '98-'00 had a lot of 2.0L motors with oil consumption issues which were caused by sloppy piston rings. Beantownbug was finally able to get his dealership to replace the rings under warranty after going through an oil consumption test with the dealership (which sounded to be a long drawn out process).

I haven't heard of this problem on a 2002, but I guess anything is possible. If you're going to try and get it covered under warranty, I would get the dealership working on the oil consumption test immediately b/c it will take a while to "prove" to them it is using oil and then they'll have to get VWoA to approve the repair.

·
a.k.a. porkchopzz4
890 Posts
slugbug123 said:
my 98 was doing the same thing but i just started using thicker oil and i havent had a problem.
Speaking of thicker oil, I run 10W-40 Castrol GTX and have no oil usage. What weight are you running?

·
Registered
80 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Hey slugbug,

How much oil were you using?
What type of oil were you used when it was consuming?
What type of oil do you use now that has helped?

Thanks!

·
Registered
98 Posts