NewBeetle.org Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone, I'm new to the whole New Beetle family I recently bought a used 2000 2.0LT GLS beetle and I noticed it was burning oil so I did an oil change to it and it worked amazingly after and no smoke at all, it was used about 6 times and then it sat for about a week and half not being used, however today I went to check the oil level and I realized it read extremely low on the dipstick, I checked it multiple times and still got the same result and I thought about putting more oil into it but I had no time because I was in a rush. So I did what I needed to do then I checked it again and it had been running for probably 30 minutes or so and when I checked it, it was back to a normal level. So please I need answers or anything! Also the oil I out into it was 0w40. 馃槉 Thanks.

Registered
G'day Elise. Mine is a '06 1.6. I was lucky enough to get the original owner's manual with it, which advises up to 1 litre per 1000 kms. (Which is roughly, i think, about 2 pints per 650 miles.) This seems like much, much more than any other car I've ever owned, but apparently it's correct. The oil I use is 5W-30, fully synthetic, long-life, and must be VW 503 or 504 specification. (You'll find that in the small print on the back label.) Hope this helps. Cheers, Scruffy.

Registered
Discussion Starter #3
G'day Elise. Mine is a '06 1.6. I was lucky enough to get the original owner's manual with it, which advises up to 1 litre per 1000 kms. (Which is roughly, i think, about 2 pints per 650 miles.) This seems like much, much more than any other car I've ever owned, but apparently it's correct. The oil I use is 5W-30, fully synthetic, long-life, and must be VW 503 or 504 specification. (You'll find that in the small print on the back label.) Hope this helps. Cheers, Scruffy.