VW Beetle Forum banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Computer Guy
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Okay so I had this crazy idea the other day to repurpose the silly little flower pot behind my steering wheel into something that I can actually use...

... and of course the little gadget engineers that live in my brain took the idea and ran with it. I woke up this morning with a crazy idea. Does anybody have any experience with the Raspbian Wheezy Linux distribution? I've been tinkering with it a bit.

Graduated from simply repurposing the flower pot to act as a mount for my phone, my goal would be to mount a full-powered PC in a liquid-cooled box in the trunk. Of course I'll take shock-proofing into consideration, and I'll be using solid-state drives, and I'll put a hinge on it so it can be opened and shown off, and I've got lots of experience making computer cases look awesome with UV-reactive liquid coolant systems and black lights and LEDs and fancy fans, etc, etc...

... but that's beside the point. "Function over form," I say. Functionally, I want the system to do several things:

• Render 360° 3D maps in VGA colour from 2-4 Kinect LIDARs on a roof rack as super-overkill proximity sensors
(I've always wanted to play with homebrew Kinect LIDAR systems, and this is a good chance to do something totally crazy but totally awesome)​
• Process GPS data over serial and plot coordinates on cached satellite maps
(I'm pretty sure Google already has an API for that buried deep in their directory of API stuff)​
• Track and organize readably onboard diagnostics from the ECU
(probably over Bluetooth, if not wired serial - I'm actually not sure if I'd have to mod my ECU to be able to do that, since I would like to be able to do it on the fly, so I have a more useful indicator than a simple Check Engine light in the instrument panel)​
• Feed all of this data into a GUI front-end (probably written in Ruby or Python) with a tabbed interface that...