NewBeetle.org Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all, newbie here (please don't hit) and a search turned up nothing, so i thought i'd ask...

I've got a 99 Beetle which has the trunk handle and keyhole hidden behind the VW emblem on the trunk.

Just bought an '06 Convertible and it just has a flat VW emblem on the trunk. No handle or keyhole.

Popping the trunk doesn't really open it very far and you have to dig under the edge to pull it open all the way. I'm worried about scratches on my new toy, so i was wondering if there are any replacement emblems that have a handle like my '99 does.

·
big poster turned lurker.
9,487 Posts
I'm pretty sure you cant swap a pre-01 badge to a vert. Especially with the 06's, as i've heard that the emblems are smaller. If you really concerned about scratches, maybe you should look into some 3m clear bra material for the bumper cover area under that hatch, so you dont scratch anyhting.
I've also heard it's good to put some if this material under the front seatbelt area to prevent that paint from rubbing off.

·
Get in.Buckle Up.Hang on.
6,525 Posts
Toad said:
I'm pretty sure you cant swap a pre-01 badge to a vert. Especially with the 06's, as i've heard that the emblems are smaller.
1. Wrong dood, see my thread. ;-)

2. If the '06 is smaller, then a larger badge would still fit.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thanks guys. Toad, any idea where i could purchase a handle/emblem? And the bra tape is a great idea too.

Bills, i had looked for spoilers that would work on the convertible. hadn't seen that one before. Where can i find one? (though i have no intention of using it as a handle) :D

·
Get in.Buckle Up.Hang on.
6,525 Posts
Joranthalus said:
Bills, i had looked for spoilers that would work on the convertible. hadn't seen that one before. Where can i find one? (though i have no intention of using it as a handle) :D