NewBeetle.org Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Premium Member
2,161 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
What I thought would be maybe a $150 job even with diagnostic time at the VW dealership is going to cost me about 3 times as much.

A simple switch that opens and releases my 2000 NB's gas door is going to cost $360 to replace plus the $90 diagnosis! :eek:
I know VW's aren't cheap to fix, but we're not talking about a $75,000 BMW here!

I also have a very small oil leak in the front. They told me I have 3 choices: Get a new oil pan for $660, have the threads to the plug re-ground for $150, or let the oil leak.

It's a good thing I love New Beetles. I'm thinking of a different 4-letter word here, but I'll post Damn.......

·
Super Moderator
20,813 Posts
I have no experience on fixing the gas door issue. How hard is it to get to?

As far as the oil pan is concerned, I'd fix the pan myself if I were you. Cup has a small leak too. The dealership is straight up ripping you off with the oil pan job. You can get them relatively cheap from ECS and other jobbbers out there. If you're near a fellow orger, somebody might give you hand with the pan- wouldn't hurt to ask.

·
Registered
4,271 Posts
What I thought would be maybe a $150 job even with diagnostic time at the VW dealership is going to cost me about 3 times as much.

A simple switch that opens and releases my 2000 NB's gas door is going to cost $360 to replace plus the $90 diagnosis! :eek:
I know VW's aren't cheap to fix, but we're not talking about a $75,000 BMW here!

I also have a very small oil leak in the front. They told me I have 3 choices: Get a new oil pan for $660, have the threads to the plug re-ground for $150, or let the oil leak.

It's a good thing I love New Beetles. I'm thinking of a different 4-letter word here, but I'll post Damn.......
What do you expect taking the Poor Beetle to the dealer. They will milk you for everything you are worth and then some.