VW Beetle Forum banner

Painting Engine Cover and Cloth Door Panel?

3K views 7 replies 5 participants last post by  iluvmyVersa08 
#1 ·
I searched ALL over the forums for a how-to so sorry if I missed it ^__^;

How EXACTLY should I paint the engine cover? Is it like the door handles and I have to sand it then prime? Or just clean it off really well and then paint?

(Sorry I'm a TOTAL newbie to ANYTHING automotive...)

Also I have a gray cloth interior and I'm about to get custom black/charcoal gray seat covers so I wanted to paint the cloth on the door panel. Is it possible to paint that with fabric paint or something similar without having to remove the whole door panel? I know if I have to do that I'll end up at the dealership with my door in pieces :confused:

And last but not least, I want the cover over the trunk space black also. :p Can I paint that with the fabric paint also or should I find someone that can sew and make a cover for it?

(Be expecting A LOT of questions from me too....)

#2 ·
I would think the engine cover would need to be sanded first & then an high heat tolerance paint used. i think they make ones for specifically under the hood.

as for painting the cloth in the door panels - i suppose you could but i don't think they'd turn out very well. i dont think fabric paint is made to cover that large of an area - i think its more intended for designs - not large backgrounds. i would think the doors would end up really stiff looking & feeling and probably have brush strokes (pretty sure they don't make spray fabric paint...) i could also be totally off in this... what you might want to do is see if you can find a similar upholstery fabric & buy a small piece and test paining it...

#3 · (Edited)