NewBeetle.org Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Premium Member
11,013 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all ! I'm new to this site and i'm not a mechanic, just a bug owner. My 2001 1.8t has had a stroke. It doesn't sense when the right door is open. I don't know where to look for the button? or wire that senses when the door is open. The interior light doesn't go on and the alarm will reset itself even if the door is wide open !!Next problem is my turbo, There isn't any!!!When I reach 3000 rpm it's like someone pulled the plug on my bug!!. The dealer wants $130 just to look at it:mad: .What can I do? My husband would try but he has no knowledge of turbos and we don't have a repair book. Any ideas on either problem?

·
Registered
34 Posts
Problem found (I think)

This problem has been irritating me mainly because the car doesn't know when my driver's door is open. If I don't start the car within 30 sec. of getting in, it re-locks and the alarm goes back on, the interior lights don't come on when I open the door, and the biggest problem (for me anyway) is that the chime for the lights being left on doesn't sound when I get out of the car and leave them on (by accident). Just last week, I had the lights on during the day (it was raining) and I forgot to turn them off when I got out. Luckily, I was just going to the gym, and the 1 1/2 with the lights on didn't kill the battery.

Anyway, found some info on vwvortex.com (links below) relating to this problem. I'm going to try to fix it the cheap way (myself, and replacing only the switch, not the whole lock module). Check out the links, there are some REALLY good explanations, write-ups, and step by step details on how to fix it (if you want to do it yourself). I don't have time to work on mine until next week, so I'll let you know how it worked once I'm finished.

(P.S. the links all say Golf/Jetta/GTI, but it's the same parts on the NB as well.)

http://forums.vwvortex.com/zerothread?id=1542461