NewBeetle.org Forums banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Greetings all,

I am a newbie when it comes to the New Beetle. I have had mine all of a month now. I have a question about putting fuel in the Beetle. Before you all get started I do know how to do this....LOL....

My question: What's the deal with the fuel tank cut off for the amount of gas. I filled my tank up tonight. It stopped at 26.00bucks however, I ended up putting 38.00 in it. Why does it do that? Is there something that I am missing when it comes to this topic. I guess another question that I have is do they all do that? What is different the NB fuel tank that is different from other types of cars?

I know that cars will do this with air in the tank. My other car that I drive is a Miata. It would do this however, it would not cut off and then hold 10 more bucks of fuel.

I know that fuel nozzles are made to cut off for safety reasons.

I come to find out that a quick stop at the gas station to fill up is no longer when filling up the NB.

Just wondering if anyone could give me some input. Just so I know what's happening so I don't drive my boyfriend crazy asking him about this like I have done every time I have filled up.

Thanks Paula

·
crank it up, suckers!
5,596 Posts
Though I myself haven't had to deal with this very often, I know that other people have. I don't know if that's a good thing or a bad thing. Try getting in touch with Callisto9. I know she has had to deal with the same situation.

Best of luck! And welcome aboard!

·
180 Degrees out of faze
841 Posts
The problem is that the filler neck is narrow. If the fuel flow is high enough, it will backup in the filler neck causing the automatic shut off of the pump. After the first few gallons, reduce the flow to the lowest setting. You should get more gallons into the tank the first try.

·
Registered
5,793 Posts