NewBeetle.org Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Computer Guy
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I'm new to this. For all I know, it's some kind of taboo blasphemy to muck about with the precious little flower pot, but I think that little thing is useless and I had an awesome idea to repurpose it.

I would like to fasten/glue one of these multi-jointed articulated camera mount arm thingies (or something similar) to one of these universal device-gripping mounts, but instead of the suction cup sticking to the windshield (I've never really liked how that looked), I want to use the locking connector that the flower pot uses to mount the multi-articulated arm to the dash, attached to the device-gripper to hold my phone (Samsung Note II) for use as a navigation system. (I'd want to use a more universal standard with the mount so that I can be sure that this thing will survive my having to upgrade my phone eventually.)

Also, since my phone has a front-facing camera, this setup would let me hold voice/video chat calls while on long road trips, which I think would be pretty novel.

Has anyone ever done this? Any thoughts, concerns, damnations for ruining a perfectly good hole to put a dead plant in?

·
Super Moderator
14,785 Posts
Hey Zach, I just wanted to "clarify" something myself. Unless your 1998 NB has been re-painted, it's not Tornado Red. :eek: For our 98-2005 NB's, only 2005's red was Tornado Red. Earlier ones, such as yours, was "Red", then 2002-2004, it was "Uni-Red".

Nice job on the mod writeup! :)

·
Computer Guy
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Oh-nooooo it certainly has not been repainted. That'll save me a lot of trouble buying the wrong colour paint for touching up those scuffs and dings it came with. I guess that's LG3L then, it would seem?

Haha, and thanks! :D

·
Older but not Wiser
1,015 Posts