VW Beetle Forum banner
1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
Older but not Wiser
1,015 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
so we go and pick up Walts new turbo-s in waco, tx. i went a long to do a sound check, and it drove great. even though i used to be a vw tech for dealership, and now work at that same dealership as an advisori still couldnt see this coming.

8 hours later the shifter cable bushing breaks like mine did and he calls with the bad news. luckily for him we had a parts car to steal a bushing off of.

so i tore into the old bug, stole the shifter cable and then tore his new Turbo-S apart and did the swap.

luckily (i guess?) this happened tome and i knew how to fix it.

then, Don on the facebook forum had the same thing happen to him this afternoon.

we really need to make a replacement part for this. im sure its going to hit our Turbo-S community again.

-jd

·
Older but not Wiser
1,015 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Hey, its time, that someone fabricate something out of metal; to fix this problem... once and for all! :D
cant be out of metal. bushing needs to flex.

-jd

·
Registered
15,839 Posts

·
Ghetto Modder
187 Posts
^^^ That's a solid fix but looks like it requires a lot of tools/skill that most of us probably don't have in a pinch. We found a rubber grommet at Ace Hardware that we think would have worked if we didn't have a part car to strip the grommet out of.

I'll post a pic of it when I get off this morning.

BTW, that's my new-to-me TS that decided to blow its bushing.

:cool:

·
Registered
15,839 Posts

·
Older but not Wiser
1,015 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
THATS what happened to me twice with my old turbo-s.

not fun.

-jd

·
Older but not Wiser
1,015 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 ·
that is correct sir, you have to buy the entire shifter cable to get that one little part.

-jd

·
Registered
15,839 Posts