NewBeetle.org Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
8,918 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
When I "Soft Delete" a thread will users see that it is still there or is that something only moderators see?

Example:
http://newbeetle.org/vb3/forumdisplay.php?f=60

Can a user see that there are two Steering Wheel Spoke - How-To?
One that has been deleted by me and one that is active?

I was trying to do a hard delete, but either that is not an option or it is something only an admin can do.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
3,625 Posts
What a user will see with your soft delete is the following:

softDelete.jpg

Perhaps we need to give mod's the ability to do a hard delete?

Or just let the admin's go through and delete the soft deletes when they pop up?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5,793 Posts
Move the soft-deleted thread into the appropriate Hideout area "Thread Graveyard".

Users will not see it there.

Next question, can a moderator move a soft-deleted thread?

(and can a moderator undelete a soft-deleted thread?)

noR
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
8,918 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Answer:
You do not have permission to manage deleted threads and posts in the destination forum
I did undelete it....then move it to the Graveyard...then delete the "moved thread" that it left behind.

I guess that's the way to do it.
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
1,131 Posts
Do moderator see the "View" and "Manage" links on a soft-deleted thread?

If so, then I see no reason to undelete it. If not, then I think we want to give them that access.
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
8,918 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
jcroft said:
Do moderator see the "View" and "Manage" links on a soft-deleted thread?

If so, then I see no reason to undelete it. If not, then I think we want to give them that access.

I think we do, but control is still limited....not sure I moved my soft deleted thread.
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
8,918 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
When I go to delete the thread I get the following options:

'soft delete'
physically remove

if I try to physically remove I get...
You do not have permission to delete threads and posts

Now if I "soft delete" - I can see the "view" and "Manage" you speak of...

view - allows me to view the post
manage - gives me a screen that allows me to restore the thread or leave it deleted.

That's all I can see in there.

I am going to undelete it and move it to the graveyard now....
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5,793 Posts
I think there's a way to move the thread w/o leaving a redirect.

...

Yeah, 'move and leave redirect' is just default. But we shouldn't use that on moves to the hideout.
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
8,918 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
noR said:
I think there's a way to move the thread w/o leaving a redirect.

...

Yeah, 'move and leave redirect' is just default. But we shouldn't use that on moves to the hideout.
Yeah - the second time I did it - I chose that option...thought I did the first time, but I guess I hadn't.
 
1 - 9 of 9 Posts
Top