NewBeetle.org Forums banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok, let me try this 1 more time - please bear with me, I'm a newbie at this.
I wish to start changing the oil on my wife's 1.8t '05 vert NB.
I need the tools I will need to do this job.
I need:
-an end cap oil filter wrench that will work on Mobil 1 M1-205 oil filters
-a tool to remove drain plug (preferably a tool that can remove the drain plug w/o removing belly pan)
-the proper torx bits to remove the belly pan to get to the drain plug, if I must remove the belly pan
Please, if possible, be as specific as possible - I'm very new at this. Hypertext links to where I can purchase these tools earns bonus points. :)
TY very much, & happy holidays to all.
Jim

·
5/23/10 <3
10,920 Posts
You got some info in your other two threads right below this one. I'd take a peek at those.

And in order to change your filter, that pan will need to come off. Super quick and easy.

·
Registered
4,271 Posts
Ok, let me try this 1 more time - please bear with me, I'm a newbie at this.
I wish to start changing the oil on my wife's 1.8t '05 vert NB.
I need the tools I will need to do this job.
I need:
-an end cap oil filter wrench that will work on Mobil 1 M1-205 oil filters
-a tool to remove drain plug (preferably a tool that can remove the drain plug w/o removing belly pan)
-the proper torx bits to remove the belly pan to get to the drain plug, if I must remove the belly pan
Please, if possible, be as specific as possible - I'm very new at this. Hypertext links to where I can purchase these tools earns bonus points. :)
TY very much, & happy holidays to all.
Jim
Check out this PDF file it should answer any questions you may have about changing your own oil:

http://www.vwupdate.com/nb_s_2.pdf