NewBeetle.org Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
The Colonel
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hey everyone! I am new to NB so please excuse me if this has been answered like a million times. I have a 2000 New beetle 1.8T. While driving it tonight to pick up my daughter from work, both the speedometer and the odometer stopped working. Gas gauge is fine. RPM gauge is fine. Lights are fine. Just those 2 things. Now the question is this: Is it a fuse that has blown, a speed sensor OR am I out of luck and have to buy a new cluster for this? This is my wife's car and needless to say she is a bit ticked so any answers would be awesome. IF it is the cluster and I replace it, how would I get the mileage to read what it is now? I am doing this myself so hopefully it will be a not too difficult fix....Thanks in advance gang!
Paul

***EDIT***
Ok this morning, when the wife was on her way to work, she told me that the gas gauge was going up and down. SO I am thinking that this is the cluser going out. So now I think I might know what the problem is. But I would still like to hear from the group here (before I go and spend the $$ on it).

·
Premium Member
1,086 Posts
I would look into the following first before the cluster:
1. Fuse box on top of the battery. Check for corrosion discoloration Etc.
2. Battery voltage and charging system. The car begins to "save" power for the ECU computer when full system voltage is not present. Does the car start ok? has it gotten cold just before this started?
3. Ignition switch in the steering column. When the switch begins to go bad electrical gremlins seem to pop up every where. ( Search the threads for ignition switch.

4. Ignition switch wire harness plug.It can go bad from over heating and the wires lose their insulation and begin to touch.

A few things to check before you spring for a new cluster

·
The Colonel
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #3