VW Beetle Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Ive lurked the forums for the past 2 years and they’ve never let me down but this is the first time I’ve had a question to ask I stripped the bolt that connects the sway bar end link to the control arm and I’ve found that the bolt is (m10x55x32) could anyone assist in what size tap I would need to re-thread the threads? Any info will be helpful and appreciated, also I have a leak from my water pump I have the new water pump but my dad told me that if I didn’t do the timing right then i could mess up the engine, I’ve already bought the water pump and have been considering doing the task myself because of my severe trust issues with mechanics, I’m not a mechanic myself but I do all my maintenance to my vehicles myself and was just wondering if I’d I should take a shot at it myself. I’m receiving the code (P1118) I replaced the coolant temp sensor witch is what the code was related too but it also could be a faulty thermostat, I was just curious since my water pump has a leak could that trigger the code (P1118)? I want to get the work done sooner rather then later since she’s at 181k the leaking coolant isn’t from any of the hoses I’ve checked them all and is coming from the water pump area so I assume it’s the water pump, it leaks more after I park it from a long drive, or when I drive fast any advice with be greatly appreciated thank you!
Tire Wheel Automotive tire Hood Motor vehicle

·
Registered
16,363 Posts
Take the old bolt; down to a hardware store or industrial fastener supplier, they could help you identify it or order a new bolt through your local VW dealer. Then you can put a nut on the new bolt; when you find one that fits correctly, you will have identified the correct pitch.

The other option, is to use a thread pitch gauge; they are not too expensive (e.g. $5 @ Lowe’s) and are typically sold, where the taps/dies are.