NewBeetle.org Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Premium Member
11,013 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I know you're all having a good laugh but I really don't know where to plug in my new gauge. I'm not going to install it yet I just want to see if i still have a working turbo.It's a Faze competition EL .Is it a reliable gauge? I'm new to all this so please help me (and my husband)

·
Beetle Cup racer
567 Posts
The only stupid questions are those who are not asked.....
well back to topic.
WITH THE ENGINE OFF
You can get a 4 feet of silicone tube for your gauge and, remove the plastic engine cover.
You will see the intake manifold right at the front (its the one that has 4 runners that fo into the side of the engine).
That large metal piece has 2 plastic hoses/tubes that exit and go on top of the engine.
You can buy a platic T (that is a plastic conector shaped like a T) and put the 2 ends of the T so the original tube is still conected and the third exit conect it to the silicon tube to your boost gauge.

This is the best place since you are reading the REAL presure on the manifold after looses of pipinf, Intercooler and throttle body.

Putting the gauge and routing the tube is more dificult and time consuuming but not imposibl even for someone with little experience.

check this Old threads with pics:

http://forums.newbeetle.org/showthread.php?threadid=53248&highlight=boost+gauge+install

http://forums.newbeetle.org/showthread.php?threadid=48459&highlight=boost+gauge+install

hope this helps

·
Registered
5,793 Posts
Heh, actually I care. :)

More vacuum == less fuel needed. And really I think it'll make a difference if I really tore into things trying to optimize the intake's airflow.

But yeah, I hear ya man. It ain't boost, that's for sure.

·
MkV Pilot
1,657 Posts