VW Beetle Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello there, I am new to this forum. I recently acquired a 2002 Beetle 2.0L manual trans with 180k on the clock. Got it cheap, and it runs fantastic aside from a few intermittent issues. Occasionally it will be running fine and suddenly it will lose half its power. Like a switch was flipped. I have run some tests with my Ancel gauge, and done a lot of reading here on the forums. I have two codes, a dreaded P0420, and a cylinder 3 misfire P0303. Rather than throw any parts at the problem (yet), I decided to check the thermostat temps. Only runs at 185 degrees F, and I have read thats just not hot enough for this engine. Maybe its running rich? I have very little service history, but I was told the injectors, ignition coils, and such were all replaced. No word on oxygen sensors or cat. I am new to the VW world, so I appreciate any input as to where to start narrowing the problem down.

·
Registered
16,162 Posts
For misfires, I would pull the plug, check the spark plug wire, injector pulse and possibly compression testing. We have seeing coils fail and in rare cases, a bad ignition chip, inside the ecm.

Vacuum leaks are common, weak fuel pumps, failing engine speed sensors and dirty throttle bodies, can cause rough idle problems, dying issues. Checking your fuel trims; can help you diagnose, a vacuum or maf, fuel delivery issues (+ or - 10%; is considered, in the "normal" range").

Cleaning your throttle body and doing a alignment; would be a good maintenance procedure, especially @ 180k, as most owners and mechanics, do not clean them very often.

Checking and testing your cat; would be something to check and confirm, the cat it out of spec. This video is great and shows how to test things with a scan tool, a basic IR spot gun type thermometer, cheap these days at most stores or places like harbor freight.

P0420 How To Diagnose A Bad Catalytic Converter -EricTheCarGuy