NewBeetle.org Forums banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
ok so I had a post on here about a lot of diff problems im having, the tranny issue got addressed but alas the thread got long and no one responded to my latest post, I had two CEL codes P0171 and P0303, the misfire code I guess could be caused by the system lean,but prob by the fact the coils are old and nasty, this is a 02 TS with 121k btw...

this is the fuel trim as requested by another user...

ok so I managed to find a real nice scanner at work (C-reader I think) and it does show live stream, so here are the values for the fuel trim...I don't really understand it all so please clue me in

this is all at idle

calculated load 2%

short term fuel trim 3.1% 6.3% (no in between just between those two)

long term fuel trim -2.3%

MAF Rate @idle 0.4 LBS

I Repo cars for a living so im not at the shop now, if you need more data, cant do till tomorrow, if needed please tell me what numbers to look for

·
Registered
3,690 Posts
CReader is a good tool, the nicer CReader is the CReader VI.

So for fuel trim, anything negative (-) is not good and is usually an indicator of either a false reading do to a bad/wrong sensor.

Also try to post the Freeze Frame data for the lean codes as well.

Good Long Term Fuel Trim values are usually between 0% and +2.5%.

Real lean conditions that trigger lean codes usually have LTFT value at +10% or higher.

RARELY does LTFT run in the negative direction, this is removing fuel from the engine and is usually due to a rich fuel condition, but again, rich fuel conditions are VERY rare.