VW Beetle Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've sold my daily driver as I will be deploying outside the country soon, and I'll be gone for awhile. When I get back I will need to buy another daily driver and I've been thinking about New Beetles (98+).

I have a few questions. I don't know much about newer VW's, although I have a 71 Bus, a 72 Beetle, and I used to be a Chrysler technician so I know my way around autos.

I assume stay away from the automatic transmissions? I prefer manuals anyway.
Which is better long term reliability wise, 2.0 or 1.8T?
Which is better for performance or performance upgrades, 2.0 or 1.8T?
Are they easy to lower, or raise (for a quasi baja look)?
Should I avoid 98's? (the first year of production, kinks aren't worked out yet sorta thing?)

I'll probably only be spending around $3k on it, maybe up to $3,500. I know I won't get something super nice for that, but I'll have plenty of time to shop around.
Thanks for any help!

-Andy

·
Apprentice Org-aholic!
1,471 Posts
I've sold my daily driver as I will be deploying outside the country soon, and I'll be gone for awhile. When I get back I will need to buy another daily driver and I've been thinking about New Beetles (98+).

I have a few questions. I don't know much about newer VW's, although I have a 71 Bus, a 72 Beetle, and I used to be a Chrysler technician so I know my way around autos.

I assume stay away from the automatic transmissions? I prefer manuals anyway.
Which is better long term reliability wise, 2.0 or 1.8T?
Which is better for performance or performance upgrades, 2.0 or 1.8T?
Are they easy to lower, or raise (for a quasi baja look)?
Should I avoid 98's? (the first year of production, kinks aren't worked out yet sorta thing?)

I'll probably only be spending around $3k on it, maybe up to $3,500. I know I won't get something super nice for that, but I'll have plenty of time to shop around.
Thanks for any help!

-Andy