VW Beetle Forum banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I purchased a 2001 new beetle (1.8T) that had a cracked head, and repaired it myself (I used to be a dealership mechanic, not VW though). I've got the car running, but with 2 problems:

1. Sometimes when the car is running, I can floor the throttle and it doesn't do anything, I can jump up and down (almost) on the pedal and no response. Other times it works ok, or the RPMs will drop suddenly and then recover while holding the throttle partly open. I've been reading about the TBA procedure that should be done (with a VAG-COM) after the battery is disconnected, is it possible that doing this procedure would fix this issue, or does it sound like the throttle body actuator needs replacement?

2. The idle is pretty rough still, does it take a while for the hydraulic lifters to pump up after sitting for a long time? I know we had this problem on some of our GM engines that I worked on previously.

·
Keep It Real
1,746 Posts
The TBA procedure should be performed asap, the alignment may correct the problem but there is no guarantee, see if there are any fault codes stored in your ECU and if so, record them, this should help you to diagnose the problem(s).

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 · (Edited)
Actually I've done some further reading and diagnosis, and found the following:

1. After the lifters pumped up, I still had a miss on #2 cyl. I swapped the coil with #4 and the miss moved with it, so I replaced the coil. Smooth idle!

2. Still have a problem with the engine not responding when giving it throttle; I disconnected the MAF and it runs much better.