NewBeetle.org Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Techie
708 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello Everyone, I am a newbie to this organization (haha just registered about 5 mins ago) :). Anyways I have been searching this form for about 2 days now I can not find exactly what I want. We own a 1998 Volkswagen Beetle that had been in a front end collision and we have dumped a ton of money on this car. At only 178,xxx km (110,000 miles) the tranny is starting to crap out on us. It shifts really high and hard from 2nd to 3rd and we don't want to spend money on a part that is going to just do it again. I am not too sure what the tranny is but I can tell you it is a 4 speed automatic w/OD.

Anyways what I really want to ask is how much would it cost if we got all of the parts from a salvage yard (except clutch) for a manual conversion? We really don't want to spend much on it so if its too much then we will probably just trade the car in on a new one or sell it. Thanks

-Peter

Car Details: 2.0L Gas Engine, 4 Speed Slushbox, Many Problems (Most fixed)

·
Probably MIA
2,800 Posts
This is a real common swap among TDI owners. I'm doing one myself. Parts (except clutch/flywheel/one-time use bolts) should be between $600 and $1200 depending on where you get your parts. I got mine from a U-Pull yard and only paid $600. Make sure you get one from a 2.0 engined car so that the gear ratios are right.

THIS THREAD (and the links contained in the 1st post) should be very helpful to you. The only diesel-specific parts are the starter and transmission...everything else is interchangeable among all A4 cars...that includes Jetta and Golf models as well.

Personally I would buy a transmission and shifter parts from a 2000+ car as the shifter setup is better. The 98-99 cars had some A3 leftovers which are sloppy and prone to breakage.