NewBeetle.org Forums banner

1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok I am new with beetles and VW. The trunk release will not work with either the key fob or the switch in the door. I tested the switch using the gas door switch so the switch itself is not the problem. I cannot hear any noise coming from the trunk when I use the switch. When I use the key fob, the lights flash but nothing else happens. I plugged in a new actuator but I was still not getting any results that either. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

·
Premium Member
4,753 Posts
Hi, and Welcome to the Org!

As a Newbie, here's a little something I put together for you, a big read, but lots and lots of useful information.
http://newbeetle.org/forums/new-member-forum/51021-newbie-welcome-kit.html

Now, regarding your latch release situation. You need to go into your User CP (2nd purple bar, left side), and complete your information so we know what year and model you have, engine also if your going to be here often (shows up in the upper right corner of your post). Many things are model, year, and engine specific. You say trunk, which would lead me to a convertible, but probably not. Hatchback, luggage compartment; Convertible, trunk

You swapped switches, BUT was there power at the switch? Was there power at the rear lid release motor? Could be a failure in the Central Control Module for the Comfort System, which requires Vag equipment to be diagnosed. I'll have to check the wiring diagram and see what else might be involved in the circuit.

Check for power with a meter at both those locations before going any further.

MORAV

·
Registered
56 Posts
we had that prob when the alarm was acting up . i think water got inside the hatch thru the third brake light ,it was broke, it also stopped the car from starting

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #4