NewBeetle.org Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Weeeeeeee
40 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys i am still new to this Beetle. I have been looking for some specs and can't find them. I was wondering what the stock psi was and if you could add a boost controller and what psi you can run on stock settings. I have heard about chipping it which sounds like a very very very promsising thing to do. So and also the DV( diverter valve) is that a common thing to go out. What about replacing the BOV with a different ones. Thanks in advance

·
20V GTRS
1,120 Posts
Stock PSI is abot 5-7. A boost controller or chip will work and you should be able to push 1 bar (~14.7PSI) with out problems. The stock DV/BOV will work for the applications thought maybe not as long as an aftermarket one would. The all VW\Audi 1.8ts use the same DV. The main difference from stock to aftermarket is the stock is a rubber diaphram was aftermarket ones are mostly a metal plunger/piston type and can be adjusted for pressure release.

·
Weeeeeeee
40 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
i have been reading peopel say that a BOV is bad for the bugs why is that. A BOV is made to prevent boost creep and to release excess air in the intake so you won't get boost creep. Would it be a bad idea to put one on. I have never had any problems with any BOV on any of the turbo cars i have owned or ran

·
180 Degrees out of faze
841 Posts
It will cause the MAF reading to be in error.
Depending on what else you have done, this could cause the check engine light to turn on. The Germans are sneaky, and they want you to use a DV. Get a Forge.

·
Weeeeeeee
40 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
So get a forge DV valve. What about the boost controller i would want a digital one that i can tune in the cabin.

·
Weeeeeeee
40 Posts
Discussion Starter #7