NewBeetle.org Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Booyakasha
33 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Have a situation....i was cruising around and played with the throttle...suddenly whe normal turbo "pssss" sound grew stronger, and i looked at my RPM, its dropping gradually while i was still pressing the gas...and when i opened the window to check...i tried going from 3000 RPM to 4000 RPM, the strong "pssss" sound started at 3500 RPM....my question is...did one of the turbo hoses broke and become to leak air or something??...the strong leaking sound came from the right side of the engine block....could it be the inlet pipes or oulet pipes???....can somebody help??!!

·
Registered
566 Posts
I'm no expert on this matter but I have been reading alot about the divertervalves being a weak point in the system. They are built with a rubber diaphram and are prone to failure. Because of this alot of people replace them with a piston based diverter valve such as a forge or bailey's. You may want to check to see if this may be your problem.

·
Booyakasha
33 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I've been thinking about the diverter valve....but a DV couldn't be the problem as the louder leaking hissing sound after 3500RPM comes from the right side of the engine block (from driver's point of view)...it sounds like a leak of preassure somewhere at the turbo connections...anyone else with their oppinions??

·
Bourgeoisie
309 Posts
Check the piping to the intercooler, particularly the connections to the pancake pipe. The hose probably blew off and is hanging disconnected. This is not uncommon, but it's an easy enough fix.

·
Performance Freak
137 Posts
Sometimes the hoses to/from the pancake pipe can become a little loose.
So under lower boost they don't leak, but under higher load and boost they do leak.
It will give a huge whoosh sound coming from the right front fender.
Pull off the right front wheel and check all the hose connections and clamps.

·
Booyakasha
33 Posts
Discussion Starter #6