NewBeetle.org Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok I can’t find a fix!!!! As some of you know I am a master ase tech. I have a 2000 gl, 2001 gls and now a 2003 turbo s. I just got the turbo s as my ex wife took the 2001. So here it is I replaced the t-belt water pump and t stat, all parts are from VW as pm the last owner did not know what had been done there was stop leak looked like bars copper in the coolant, when it was apart I flushed the rad, heater core, block, all hoses and coolant bottle I drove the car for a week no problems it had low heat but not bad. It over heated on the way to the e-test I got back home replaced the cap would not hold pressure heater was not working I figured that it needed to burp no such luck I pulled the heater core hoses off flushed the core got new coolant from VW re flushed the system used my coolant vac gage to pull the air out refilled the system. I had no heat and almost over heated and lower rad hose was cold so warranted the t-stat, This still has not fixed the problem I have no heat intermittently when there is no heat both heater hoses are cold vech is not over heating it does not matter if I am driving or on idle it comes and goes fans come on it has a new fan module and ect from VW I did do a co2 test and cly leak down test there the system holds pressure and will hold a vacuum so there is no head gasket leak the vech seams like its low or no flow, I did replace the pump it is the steel one under warrantee re flushed the heater core, rad, and block theirs is flow and no sigh of stop leak and still the heat comes and goes. I have conceder replacing the heater core at this point. Has anyone had this problem?
Thank you all for your time on this one.

·
Premium Member
3,454 Posts
Wish I had an answer for you - someone will hopefully provide some insight for you soon!

Sent from my iPhone using AutoGuide.com App

·
Peace Love & T.o.D.
2,802 Posts