NewBeetle.org Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm not a mechanic, so I don't know the technical terms for things so.... The shroud that is under and on the driver's side of the engine on my 2000 Beetle has broken and come off.
1) Is it important to have on there?
2) If so..., where can I get a new one?
3) Will I need to take out a new mortgage to pay for it?

Bob
Spearfish, SD

·
180 Degrees out of faze
841 Posts
The dealer is the best option on getting a new one (only cost your left foot). The plastic ones are meant to keep the mud and dirt off of the underside of the motor, provide aerodynamic drag reduction, and keep engine heat contained.
They add no protection to your oil pan against rocks, ice chunks, and other road kill. If you are willing to give up your first born child, consider a steel skid pan. In the blink of an eye, mine saved my motor from being destroyed by someones spare tire. The truck in front just went over the wheel, I hit it. Well, the skid plate hit it, and we just sort of bounced over it. See this: http://dieselgeek.com/panzer.php

·
Super Moderator
14,766 Posts
Mine disappeared last year. I was wondering if it is really needed, or how much a new one would be. I may be considering replacing it, as I plan on keeping my car for a long time.

I'm glad to see this discussion.

·
Bourgeoisie
309 Posts
Replacing all three parts of the under-engine cover will cost, not including labor charges, almost $200.

For ~$300, you can get a Dieselgeek Panzer aluminum skid plate.

Mine tore off a year ago. Thankfully, I live in LA and don't have to deal with rain all that much, not to mention it's not a daily driver for the time being, so I'm not too worried about it being naked while I figure out how to add a Panzer to the budget. Christmas, I think.

·
big poster turned lurker.
9,487 Posts