NewBeetle.org Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
80 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to the VW world and see a lot of posts about the Vag-com. It seems to read and display much more info than an OBD-II code scanner. For those of you that bought one are you happy with your purchase? I'm not going to be doing any hard core tuning so I'm wondering if it's worth the $250. The $99 OBD-II code scanner reads and erases codes on VW's correct?

Thanks

·
strange things are afoot
1,535 Posts
I recently got an ebay style ($40) cable with release 311.2 and got it activated for full functionality. ($99)

you cannot beat this price for all this functionality. it will aslo read any P codes in OBDii cars so its not just for your VW.

good luck!

·
overwhelmed/underpaid
3,319 Posts
Eeyore said:
I recently got an ebay style ($40) cable with release 311.2 and got it activated for full functionality. ($99)

you cannot beat this price for all this functionality. it will aslo read any P codes in OBDii cars so its not just for your VW.

good luck!

I got what he's got.

·
Premium Member
3,650 Posts
I got mine for something like $30 but have yet to register the VAGCOM application (largely because we're a Macintosh household and I'm dead stuck on buying an older Windows 95 based Pentium tablet from Toshiba, or a small Toshiba subnotebook, that I can leave in the glovebox with the VAGCOM... so: no PC to install the "it installs on one PC" software yet). Ahem. That said, I've turned off my selective locking, but many of the "advanced" features I wish to play with are locked out without registering VAGCOM. As a scan and diag tool, even in shareware mode, it'll reset codes and do diag work just fine. It's all the personalization stuff that ya pay for :)