NewBeetle.org Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi Guys,
My wife and I just bought a 2003 Beetle 2.0L GLS with 128,00 miles on it.
It has been running great until today. We were driving today and I noticed the ABS and the airbag light come on. At a red light the brake light came on then when I started off the warning bell started dinging so I pulled into a parking lot and switched it off. Well then it would not turn over. It would try to but acted like a dead battery although lights and radio still worked. Had a friend come out and jumped it off and it started right up and drove home with no more problems. The only thing that I did before jumping it off was pull out the fuse at the battery which I don't know what they are for yet. A couple of the cables in the connection box on top of the battery are corroded and I intend on cleaning those tomorrow.

Any ideas as to what would cause this?

I've been a mechanic and an electronic tech my adult life and it leads me to think there is either a bad connection or a short somewhere
all of my experience is with American and Japanese cars, no European car experience so these are new to me.

·
Registered
23 Posts
Sounds very much like a defective battery. The multiple positive and negative plates inside a battery can develop a hairline crack, and when this happens you can get an open circuit.

The symptoms are just like you described. One minute there is only the electrolyte fluid providing the circuit with enough juice to runs small items like lights but not enough to provide the amperage necessary to run the starter motor.

A jump start will often reconnect the plate that is cracked until such time that it expands to cause an open circuit again.

The multiple warnings lights that you experienced are likely the result of low voltage when the battery open circuit occurs. I've had this same experience myself a couple of times over the past 35 years of owning several cars.