VW Beetle Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
<--Not a self portrait.
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I own a 2001 NB Sport 1.8T with about 30,000 miles. It is my first car with a manual transmission and I learned how to drive stick on it. On my way home yesterday, I began to notice something with my clutch. When I frist got my car, it required some effort to fully engage the clutch and it was easy to modulate the pedal. Now the clutch engages almost effortlessly and is much harder to modulate. It's almost like the clutch has to either fully engaged or fully disengaged. Just to double check myself, I had my father drive it for a bit and he said that he didn't think the clutch felt entirely right. What does all of this mean? Do I need a new clutch? Is something loose? Do I need to check some fluids somewhere? I'm still pretty new to this manual transmission stuff, so any help I could get would be appreciated.

·
Premium Member
114 Posts
depends....if you're the type of driver that "rides the clutch" then yes, you might need a new one....I would take it in to the dealer and have them check it...it could be something as simple as an adjustment....or something as expensive as a throw out bearing or a pressure plate....you wont know until they look at it...

·
<--Not a self portrait.
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I try not to ride the clutch. It just started to do this too. I'll let you know what the dealership says.

·
Registered
5,793 Posts
For DIY options, I'd bleed the brake fluid & the clutch; putting in fresh fluid. (you HAVE been changing the brake/clutch fluid every 2 yrs, right?)

It "COULD" be a slave cylinder. If so, and if it gets checked out soon enough it could save you alot of wear and tear on your clutch, flywheel, and pressure plate....

Otherwise it COULD be something wrong w/the pressureplate.