VW Beetle Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all:

I have a 2001 2.0L gas (AVH) engine. In order to save like $400, I am going to attempt to replace the water pump, timing belt, accessory belt, and thermostat on my car. I've done a timing belt on a 1996 GTI, but I'm not a talented mechanic.

I cannot figure out which engine mount bolts I need to buy.

The parts numbers for the bolts are listed in this document:
VWVortex.com - DIY: Timing Belt And Coolant Pump Replacement on 2.0 AEG! Pics Inside!

But I cannot find the bolt listed as N10209606.

I typically buy my parts from German Auto Parts. Here are the bolts they have in stock:
GermanAutoParts.com : Volkswagen New Beetle Engine

I know I need (2) of the 10x55 bolts. Do I also need (2) of the 12x65?

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks.

·
Registered
2,301 Posts
By the way, did you see that there is a link to a .pdf with all the pictures for the DIY in message #268 of the VWVortex thread? That is a good set of instructions. They are the ones I relied on most heavily when I did my timing belt.

·
5/23/10 <3
11,417 Posts
There are also a number of places you can get a full kit. ECStuning and blauparts I know have them.

·
Registered
758 Posts
There are also a number of places you can get a full kit. ECStuning and blauparts I know have them.
I went this route. The kit I bought even included the G12. The only thing the kit didn't include was the timing belt tensioner tool, which I ordered separately.

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
By the way, did you see that there is a link to a .pdf with all the pictures for the DIY in message #268 of the VWVortex thread? That is a good set of instructions. They are the ones I relied on most heavily when I did my timing belt.
Yes, yes! I was so bummed that the links were dead, but luckily a couple folks near the end of the thread mention that the PDF existed.