VW Beetle Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Luv my bug!
246 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My 2005 NBC is a nightmare. Bought it for a reliable commuter car (manual tranny) -- Don't laugh. I am not a master mechanic and I don't have time nor talent for the maintenance this car requires. But...it is such a cute model and drives so well that I would love one just like it that is not so high maintenance. Please share if there is a NBC model that is reliable as a commuter car!
:eek::eek::eek:

·
Registered
3,690 Posts
The 5 cylinder cars are probably a bit better, not timing belts.

But they all have the same basic issues.

Assuming the car has not be beat to death.

Maybe you can find a garage queen if you shop around.

But you also have to put everything into perspective.

Certain things are common on EVERY car like brakes, clutch and so forth. Other things are model specific like door latches, etc.

What issues have you against the wall

ALL the automatics have valve body issues that I am aware of. MAYBE the much later models had improvements?

·
Luv my bug!
246 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
The 5 cylinder cars are probably a bit better, not timing belts.

But they all have the same basic issues.

Assuming the car has not be beat to death.

Maybe you can find a garage queen if you shop around.

But you also have to put everything into perspective.

Certain things are common on EVERY car like brakes, clutch and so forth. Other things are model specific like door latches, etc.

What issues have you against the wall

ALL the automatics have valve body issues that I am aware of. MAYBE the much later models had improvements?
Hi There :)

You've always been a big help to me and for that I thank you sooooooo much.

Things are breaking on this car that are not maintenance.

The passenger side window assembly "went out" and the part alone was $200. The cable was mangled--they showed it to me. How does that happen honestly!