NewBeetle.org Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
About six months ago I "repaired" my window regulator by ordering a kit off of ebay, watching a youtube video, and of course reading over these fine forums. Yesterday when driving home I heard the snap of the cable which was followed by my window slowly falling down into the door.

My question is whether there is a larger problem that could be causing my door to eat regulators? There appeared to be some damage to the rails the last time I replaced the cables, could that cause a subsequent failure?

I saw that most of the replacement regulators also come with the door panel. I am fine switching this out if it would help prevent future breaking, but I would prefer not to as I think that would require me to remove/reinstall the door speaker (why did they use rivets and not screws :( ).

Sorry if this is in the wrong forum location (I am a noob).

Any guidance would be greatly appreciated as winter is coming :)

Oh yea,
2004 2.0 with ~137,000 miles

·
RAWRAWRAWRAWR
9 Posts
So they say the higher quality kits with actual metal parts instead of plastic ones tend to work better. I mean, they'll still break faster than a orphan's heart but they'll last A Little Bit longer.

There is no permanent fix from what I've been reading. You may find a kit that works for you for a few years but eventually they will break again. At the most inopportune moments. Like in the dead of winter as you're trying to roll down your window to pay a toll. Or using the kiosk going into a automatic washing machine. Or trying to smoothly flip someone the bird. These are the moments in which they will break again, no doubt.

Do they make fabric and zipper door covers for beetles?

·
'02 Snap Orange 1.8T/5spd
152 Posts